What Are Your 7 Chakras & How To Open Them?

If you remember the old fantasy tales and stories that you had seen or heard about as a kid then you might be knowing about the fact that our body is actually made up of energy aka life force. It’s great if you do know about this stuff but it’s alright if you don’t.

So, what’s with this life force and how is it all connected?

This life force flows through our body from these 7 chakras which are also considered as the energy points in our body. Understand them as a big pool (refillable) of energy located at different points in your body.

Namely, these 7 chakras in our body which move above from bottom to top from our spinal cord are:

  1. Root Chakra (Muldhara)
  2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhishthana)
  3. Solar Chakra (Manipura)
  4. Heart Chakra (Anahata)
  5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)
  6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)
  7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Energy in our body flows through these 7 chakras and you can draw-in energy from these chakras once you activate and master them through chakra meditation – more on this in the 5 Types of Meditation.

But the funny thing is that in most of the people nowadays many or all of these chakras are blocked. And blockages in these often lead to bad times and situations in our life which we term to as – s*it happens (LOL!).

Anyway, let’s understand the basics of each chakra one by one and let’s find out on how you can open up these chakras.


#1. The Root Chakra

The root chakra is located at the bottom of your spinal cord i.e at its base of your back. When we talk about opening up the chakras, it’s the first one to start with and it’s denoted by a red color.

Activation: Muldhara is associated with our safety and survival. Your normal well being, your daily needs, your basic necessities etc. are all the things that it is concerned with. This chakra is blocked by your fears and is activated when you let go of your fears.


#2. The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is located at the position of your sexual organs. And the color of this chakra is orange.

Activation: Svadhishthana (I know it’s a mouthful) is associated with your pleasures and it is blocked by all the feelings for which you truly feel guilty. To activate this chakra you must accept what has had happened and forgive yourself.


#3. The Solar Chakra

The solar chakra is located at the center of your body which is just above your navel. Yellow is the color of this chakra.

Activation: Manipura is connected to your willpower. Your will to do anything in life comes from here. And it is blocked by shame. This chakra gets activated when you let go of the things that you are ashamed of.


#4. The Heart Chakra

This chakra is located at the position of your heart which is approximately the center of your chest. It is denoted by a green color.

Activation: Anahata is associated with your ability to love. Your feelings of love and compassion for others come from here. Grief is what that blocks this chakra and to activate it you need to let the pain of your loss and loved ones flow away.


#5. The Throat Chakra

Located at the position of your throat, the color of this chakra is blue.

Activation: Vishuddha deal with your ability to communicate with others and yourself. The lies that we tell ourselves (not others) is what that blocks this chakra. To activate it you need to accept the truth.


#6. Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is located on your forehead right in the center i.e in-between your eyebrows. The color is indigo.

Activation: Ajna deals with insight and is the second most powerful chakra in your body. To activate this chakra you need to let go of all the illusions of our life.


#7. The Crown Chakra

Finally, the last chakra is the crown chakra which is located at the top of your head and its color is violet.

Activation: Sahasrara is the most powerful chakra of all, activation of which is extremely difficult. It deals with the energy flowing from the universe and it is blocked by your attachments. To activate this chakra you need to let go of all of the things that you are attached to. Now, you know why it’s so difficult to activate it.


A Few Tips…


  • To activate your chakras you need to focus on each specific one and visualize cleansing of all the blockages in the way I described above.


  • You may see or feel some things that are mystical in nature and/or are unexplained whether it be your thoughts or sightings. Therefore, it’s a must that you get well aware of the facts and be ready to face the worst outcomes that can occur.


  • Though there are many benefits of opening up all your chakras yet it’s quite harmful to you if not done correctly. So, it is recommended to proceed with activation only under a guru.


That’s all I had to share with ya all about chakras and how to activate. Let me know your experiences down in the comments section and if you have any questions then you can either contact me directly or post it down below. One more thing, do not forget to share this post if you like it! Peace.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *